Kingdom Rock.

For 2 and a half years, I went on a volunteering hiatus.

Back in my old church, I actively served in two ministries (administrative support and creative communications). Upon transfer to my current church, however, I found an excuse not to involve myself as much. I want to get settled first. I want to observe first. My new job’s taking too much of my time. I am tired. I want to spend more time praying about it.  The list just went on.

God did reprimand me a lot of times because honestly, I made time and wasn’t too tired for other non-church activities.  In one of the many times that He called my attention to it, I tried to respond. So I signed up and auditioned for the Music Ministry. I got pumped when I passed the audition but got a bit discouraged when nobody contacted me after. The church then was undergoing some major changes in terms of staffing so, perhaps, somewhere in the transition, they missed out on the new volunteers. I saw what could have caused them to forget but instead of approaching them and following up, I found another excuse to bum around.

This year, God spoke to me about serving in the ministry again. At the same time, He started revealing things about what He has blessed my hands with and what He wants me to do about it.

“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” -1 Peter 4:10

On the 3rd week of February, I took a Spiritual Gifts Assessment Test and I got “Craftsmanship” as my topmost gifting. The same week, I signed up for the Production Design Ministry.

The Production Design Ministry basically is in charge of stage/set designs, props and other visual aids  for services and other church activities. According to our Ministry Head, we help the church draw in people that way. We create things that are attractive and we make them relevant.

This April, I was able to participate in making a “KINGDOM ROCK” set for Vacation Bible School (which starts today!).  It was physically tiring but it was truly, truly rewarding.

And despite working late hours, the team’s energy was so consistent. Everybody’s enjoying and having fun. God’s grace was just so evident.

I feel very blessed to have joined and helped. I saw how God generously gives spiritual gifts. I am just in awe of the talent and creativity that I witnessed!

I have a few more photos which I wish to share but before that, look at your hands. What is in them? What will you do with them?

My recommendation is that you glorify the Lord with them.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kingdom Rock.

  1. Hello Rorie, this sounds so exciting and fun. It’s always a joy to serve in the House of God and I find that despite the long hours – there’s no tiredness. Can’t wait to read more about your journey in the ministry.

Leave a Reply

