Craft Stuff

I was supposed to tidy up my closet last night when I got sidetracked by my crafting stuff. I realized I haven’t been doing as much lately and that they’ve been resting in the box for a while now. I wish I could report that I was able to physically craft something but no, I crafted an idea instead.

I thought of sharing with you some of the things that I have and use so, I took their photos.

 

1. Washi Tapes

I love washi tapes! The things that you can do with them are endless. Kimberly Sneed shares 100 ways to use them andย  Pinterest also offers thousands of inspirations.

Personally, I made cards with them, used them to prettify my gadgets, and decorated blank notebook covers with them. I got my first 2 rolls from Hey Kessy, an online craft shop based in the Philippines, at Php75 each. They make their own designs so you can get washi from them that you won’t find elsewhere.

The rest were purchased by my aunt in the UK. They came in bundles of 3 and 6. I forgot how much they cost exactly but I’m certain they were cheaper than the ones available locally.

 

2. Strings

Look up string crafts in Pinterest and you’ll be surprised by the number of projects you can do. Apartment Therapy also listed down 5 DIY string crafts that are too awesome for words!

As for me, I love braids and I will forever be in love with friendship bracelets!

I buy strings from Wellmanson’s, a crafts shop located in Quiapo, Manila. That place has almost everything a crafter will need – beads, strings, gold chains, silver chains, tools, packaging, stamps, all sorts of paper, etc. The best part about it is that the prices are so low. If you go there with Php500, I’m telling you, you’re off to a shopping spree!

 

3. Dye

This is probably the cheapest and most useful stuff a crafter can have. There are a lot of things you can spruce up with these babies. I personally use them onย  clothes that I already got bored with so I can wear them a new way.

Check out Martha Stewart’s 20 Dye Projects ย and go to Favecrafts’ Tie Dye Techniques to get you started.

You can easily purchase dyes from your local bookstore. Here in the Philippines, it’s sold at Php5-Php6 per sachet.

 

4. Mini Round Nose Pliers

We organized a mini bazaar at my former office in 2013. I sold handmade jewelry there and did a lot of metal twisting in the course of it so, I wouldn’t have survived without those mini nose pliers. I believe it’s a must have for any jeweler!

I got my mini nose pliers from Wellmanson’s as well at Php150 each.

 

5. Precision Cutter and a pair of Scissors

Need I explain? I don’t know if you’ll agree with me, but I think crafting involves a lot of cutting. So, you really have to invest in a reliable pair of scissors! The precision cutter, on one hand, I use mostly for my paper cutting projects.

I bought the precision cutter at SM Department store for more or less Php200. The pair of scissors, I got separately from National Bookstore. Talent is a Korean brand, I think. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

6. Stained by Sharpie

If you like to doodle or draw on cloth, you better have this. They are markers made especially for textile. I used them on some of my cotton shirts, on denim and on a pair of sneakers. Read more about them here.

They’re not yet available in the Philippines so my aunt bought them for me in the UK.

 

7. Metal Stamping Kit

I just had it this April and really haven’t done anything with it yet except for practice stamping on an old Mrs.Fields tin box. I’m really excited to make jewelry though but I’m still trying to find a good metal blanks supplier here.

If you like personalized accessories, then you gotta have this! You can also use it on leather. ๐Ÿ™‚

My Impress Art Stamping Kit was purchased in the UK too. My aunt ordered it from CJ Beaders and it costs around ยฃ55.

 

The list ends here. I hope you enjoyed it somehow and hey, maybe you can share your craft stuff too! Leave a link if you do so. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Craft Stuff

  1. Hi Rorie,

    This is Julia from FaveCrafts.com. I just wanted to say thanks so much for featuring our Tie Dye Techniques page – I’m so glad you found it helpful! We have so many tie dye tutorials, so be sure to check those out too. Thanks!

  2. Hi!

    I came across your blog while looking for metal stamping kits here in the Phils. Do you think I can also find them in Quiapo?

    BTW, I’m not sure if it’s still helpful, but for metal stamping blanks you can get some from @jigsandclays Instagram account. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Ez! I am sorry if my reply came waaay too late. I tried to look for them in Quiapo before but to no avail; that’s why I decided to have may auntie based in the UK purchase them for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

