Preppy Watercolor

I’m not married nor am I in the process of planning my wedding. I’m not even engaged. Well, not yet. Haha. Anyway, despite the absence of a ring on my finger, I already have a Pinterest board named “The Day Someday” that has 135 pins to date.

With the many pretty things that I see on Pinterest, I cannot help but wish to do or incorporate them all in my future wedding. You might consider that a good thing because of the number of ideas but no, not really. Having too many pegs can be pretty troublesome when you don’t know which to pick anymore. Actually, you scrap picking altogether and just want them all to happen.

This is why I am no longer surprised when couples send me pegs or give me design instructions that are ‘a bit of everything’. I always find it a good challenge to give them that ‘bit of everything’ without sacrificing aesthetics and of course, keeping close to their wedding theme.

So when a couple asked for me to design a preppy, chevron, playful, and watercolor-ed invitation for their black-tie wedding, I fist-pumped and mouthed, “Challenge accepted!”

13495462_899233686889579_4584087945373891998_o

This is what we ended up with after a few suggestions and revisions. Yay! (Photo by Chestknots Studios, Print Production by Amis Print)

I tried to incorporate all the above-mentioned requests by first, using the couple’s choice of colors, stripes, and chevrons strongly. These three elements were enough to set the preppy and playful look.

Secondly, I made their watercolor request happen by overlaying a watercolor wash on the stripes and chevrons.

And lastly, I hinted at the the wedding being a black-tie event through the dry-sealed monogram on the ivory white envelope, and the golden, thermographed names. Detailed photos here, so you get to see it the invitation in its entirety. Haha.

S0000 there! It was a good challenge, especially for a minimalist like me, BUT anything for my client’s satisfaction! Because really, isn’t that the goal? It’s their wedding, so it should be about them and what pleases them. So if they give you 135 pegs, you either have to power through them and come up with something OR help them narrow down their choices by helping them focus on their core theme. Yes, the latter is also a great option!

I’m very grateful that this particular couple was a delight to work with and  I’d like to believe too that they felt the same towards me because they referred me to another client (whose wedding invitation I am working on right now). Yey! Thank God for talents and for opportunities that give birth to new ones!

 

Leave a Reply

